Downtown Boys

I spotted these teenage boys in downtown Atlanta a couple of weeks ago as they were traipsing down the sidewalk and I was inching my way through rush hour traffic. Their gangly bodies moved with youthful ease and they appeared to be having a great time in each other’s company. As I approached the corner, I saw that they had plunked themselves down on a bench close to the intersection. As the traffic light turned red my car came to a stop alongside these boys. I picked up my camera and  took one shot through the passenger window. One of the boys spotted me taking their picture and told his cohorts that they had been photographed. That is all it took for these teenagers to egg me on to take another picture…which of course I did.

10 comments
    • And thank you for taking the time to visit my blog!

  1. Don;t get too famous, Beate, or they’ll be tracking you down, years from now….asking for their royalties! 🙂

  2. I absolutely love the variety of reactions and expressions these boys are displaying! One “sexy”, one amused, one irritated, and one “scared”. Great capture!!

    • Thank you. This was a fun collaboration. I’m not sure these boys would have been so daring on their own but as a group they really let go and fed off eachother’s craziness.

  3. Yvonne said:

    Gotta love kids!

  4. Love it, Beate! I think you really captured them! Love the DOF, too. Very nice choice. You really have a gift for capturing people’s spirits!

    • Thanks Gail. I try to connect with the people I photograph and the way I can accomplish that is by asking the individual(s) for permission to be photographed. Once permission is granted, the process of creating the photograph becomes a collaboration and people are more willing to open up to me. Even though there was the barrier of the window in this capture of the Downtown Boys, their body language was clear in their desire to be photographed.

      • Owen Jones said:

        I’m glad I am getting to know you. Owen

  5. Owen Jones said:

    I’m glad to be getting to know you! owen

Leave a Reply

