Paul’s Barbershop

I am fascinated with barber shops and have photographed several over the years. Paul’s Barbershop in Clayton, Georgia has to be the most interesting I have ever visited. Every inch of the shop is filled with relics from the southwest and other places Paul has traveled. Because I grew up in New Mexico, I was immediately drawn to the kachina dolls, pottery shards and arrow heads which are displayed museum style in glass cases and on shelves. As one customer fondly remarked to me, “I don’t come here to see Paul, I come here to see all his stuff.”

Paul was born in Pontiac, Michigan but moved to Phoenix, Arizona with his family in 1970. He received his barber’s certificate when he rejoined the army in 1987 and finally settled in Clayton, GA in the mid 90s. He opened the shop at its current location in 1998. Paul is also a passionate musician. He plays the guitar, composes and has recorded his music. A sign in his shop tells his customers that his CDs are free to those who are willing to listen.

3 comments
  1. Again, a wonderful job, Beate! You have such a gift for capturing a person’s spirit, and it never seems forced or uncomfortable. Thanks for sharing!

    • Yvonne said:

      I love the sign….”I’m having a nice day, don’t screw it up”…!!
      Cool shop.

  2. Rick Ferrall said:

    Great stories & photos! I have a web site under construction thanks in part to your leading the way. Bravo!

Leave a Reply

