“Honorary Granny”

Katherine Dorsey is another fan of Waffle House who attended the dedication of a historical marker at the original Waffle House in Avondale Estates last weekend. Katherine worked at Waffle House up until 3 years ago when her husband passed away. She still lives around the corner from the Waffle House she worked at. When I asked her what her name was she said, “Katherine, but they call me Granny”. She proudly wore her Waffle House “Honorary Granny” name tag for the event.

8 comments
  1. Rick Ferrall said:

    Sweet!

  2. margfoxon@comcast.net said:

    Oh my, only in GA!!! What a shot, Beate!

    • What a wonderful subject Katherine was! She was delightful and so photogenic. I would have loved to have a granny like her. I can see why so many people have adopted her as “granny”

  3. Becky Nicolaides said:

    Beate, you are such an artist – I’m totally enjoying all of these photos. They are all fabulous. Kudos to you. love, Becky

    ________________________________

    • Thanks Becky. I am enjoying the process of meeting these wonderful people and creating their portraits. This has been a great way to get to know Atlanta and the surrounding areas.

  4. Myrtie said:

    Beate-You have such a great way of capturing expressions and realities of people!

    • Thanks Myrtie. I’m always amazed how honest people are with me when they pose. Rarely do I get someone who wants to flash an artificail smile. For the most part they are just themselves. That is always a gift that I am given by a person.

Leave a Reply

