Fishing on the Chattahoochee

One of the most scenic places in Atlanta lies within the Chattahoochee River National Recreation Area, just a short drive north from downtown Atlanta. Amid the skyscrapers and I-75/I-285 interchange, the Chattahoochee River flows south from Lake Lanier. It is considered one of the premier fishing streams for trout in Georgia. Each year, 150,000 trout are released into the Chattahoochee River and brown trout are naturally reproducing in these waters. Last weekend, I spotted several fisherman under the I-75 bridge. I stopped to watch the fisherman and to ask whether they had been lucky in their pursuits. (I later learned from a hiker on the trail that the river had just been stocked). As I photographed the fisherman, I reminisced about my childhood trips with family to trout fish in the mountain streams in New Mexico. Although I no longer fish, my 88-year-old father continues to do so with a passion. I live vicariously through the people I stumble upon with a fishing pole in their hands.

11 comments
  1. Joanna White said:

    Great picture! My most memorable fishing experience was with your family!

    • Thanks for reminding me of that…over 30 years ago. For those of you that don’t know, Joanna came home with me during a college break. My parents and I took her up to the Jemez mountains to fish. Our destination was my parent’s favorite fishing spot located miles up a curvy dirt road full of ruts. We hadn’t even started to fish when the skies opened up with a torrential downpour. There was major flooding across the roads and we did not know whether we were going to drive or float down the mountain. It was quite exciting.

  2. margfoxon@comcast.net said:

    Really love the coloring of this … its terrific. Hope you are doing well. I got a couple of pieces into the Gadsden Art Show this year (opens on Friday next) – its getting tougher and tougher now as its attracting so many people. M

  3. Virginia Twinam Smith said:

    That’s the most interesting under bridge shot I have seen of kind of bridge which is usually quite according to the pattern book on top. It is not a good place to go alone and never in high water without your water wings. The color is interesting. That happened with a photograph of an outdoor scene I sold from a show back in the darkroom days. The purchacer got in touch eager to know how I obtained the interesting color. I blamed serendipity and hoped he was not too dissappointed. Beate, I do believe every photo has a story to go with it.

  4. The color and lighting was beautiful under the bridge in part because the skies were about to open up. Our hike was cut short due to rain. Thank you for sharing you story too!

  5. Yes, great image indeed… As for me, as much as I like fishing, I can’t seem to catch one!!! jajaja… But just being out there with nature is certainly relaxing 😉

  6. Casey said:

    What camera and lens combo do you typically use? Great lighting!

    • Thanks for your comment. I use a Canon 5D Mark II and I had the Canon 35mm 1.4 L lens on my camera that day. I had just purchased the lens and was trying it out.

  7. Wonderful post but I was wondering if you could write a
    litte more on this subject? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit further. Many thanks!

    • I don’t have too much to say about the photo other than the fact that I was walking on the trail next to the river and happened upon this sight. The light was amazing under the underpass and there were several fisherman fishing in that spot. The gentleman that was featured in my photo was having problems with his fishing line because it appeared tangled. I waited a long time for him to cast the line but it never happened in the time frame I was there. I did capture the moment though when he reached back with his left hand to grab the line as the wind blew it outward. I knew when I had captured that shot that I had captured a meaningful moment.

Leave a Reply

