Publication in LensWork #103

I am pleased to announce that my Tall Timbers Plantation Project was chosen for publication in LensWork’s Nov/Dec 2012 issue. Additional images and an interview will be released on LensWork Extended in December.

It is an honor to have my project published in LensWork. I have subscribed to LensWork since 2006, when I became passionate about photographing. I have always regarded the black and white images in this stunning publication as my benchmark for quality and beauty. Not only is the photography top-notch, but the reproductions are gorgeous. I am also pleased to share the story of the former Tall Timbers Plantation tenant farmers with readers around the world. The people I photographed and their families played an important role in the history of Southern Agriculture and their contribution is being honored in the Tall Timbers Plantation Project.

11 comments
  1. Hildy Diaz said:

    Congratulations Beate!! Since your very first post your portrayal of diverse subjects has imerged with a unique talent. I am very happy to see your work published. Aunt Hildy

    • Thanks Aunt Hildy. I appreciate your continued support. It is very special to share these successes with family and friends.

  2. This is quite an accomplishment, Beate; and, needless to say, it’s well deserved. – And your work is featured on the cover, no less! I couldn’t be happier for you. Lenswork is considered a pinnacle for the serious photographer; you’ve reached it in style. Congratulations.

    • Thanks David for all your support and kind words. It was you who really encouraged me to submit the project to show last year and once I realized it was of interest to others, I gained the confidence to promote it. Many thanks!

  3. Bunny Ferrall said:

    We are so proud of you!! Your work is truly
    Wonderful!!

    • So great to hear from you. Your work is wonderful too. We really miss it!

  4. Wow…. Congratulations Beate!!! I’m happy for you 😉 Do you have a copy you can bring to the next WIF meeting? I would love to see it.

  5. This is wonderful news Beate. What an absolute honor to have been chosen for this publication. The work is stunning as is yours.

  6. Myrtie said:

    Congratulations, Beate!! This is wonderful news and well deserved!

  7. I’m not surprised one bit. Your work has always been from the heart and is technically excellent. A true merging of right and left brain. Congrats to a wonderful photographer.

  8. Margarita Montalvo said:

    Congratulations!

    And…yes…I remember how much your family enjoyed fishing. I bet that’s one of the things Doris misses the most. Luckily they can still go to concerts.

    “Abrazos”, Margarita

Leave a Reply

