In Remembrance

Christmas lights at Botanical gardens-2

In an attempt to brighten my spirits, my family and I visited the Garden Lights, Holiday Nights at the Atlanta Botanical Gardens. I had not had the desire or been in the right frame of mind to photograph since the Connecticut school massacre on December 14th. I usually turn to my camera at times when I am feeling low but this time I had not possessed the motivation to even photograph. As our family left the house for the Botanical Gardens last Thursday, I slung my camera around my neck, more out of habit than anything else. That night, the beauty and joy at the gardens slowly started to chisel away at the grief I had been feeling for all the parents and family members who had lost their loved ones. As I ambled through the spectacular light displays my desire to create pictures slowly displaced my sadness and I once again started to photograph. My time of healing started that night at the gardens. I continue to think about  the grieving families and community in Connecticut and hope that they will find something beautiful to hold onto during this holiday season, something that will soften their sadness, if even for a short while.

May all of you be touched by the joy and beauty of this holiday season.

 

 

3 comments
  1. Tracy Cox said:

    Well said, wonderful words. Thanks for sharing.

    Tracy Cox Sent from my iPhone

  2. Margarita Montalvo said:

    Not only are you a great photographer, but a PRETTY GOOD writer!!!!!!!! Margarita

  3. Diana said:

    such a nice message of how art can help us get over those tough times….love the lens….and Merry Christmas time and Happy New Year to you and your family!!

Leave a Reply

