Ballet at Callanwolde

Ballet at CallanwoldeCallanwolde is a Gothic-Tudor style mansion that was built in 1920 by one of the Coca-Cola heirs. It is situated on 12 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens in the neighborhood of Druid Hills in Atlanta. Today, Callanwolde Fine Arts Center offers classes and workshops to the community. This past Fall  I was visiting a fellow photographer’s exhibit at Callanwolde  when I happened to glance in the direction of the dance studio. Young girls were prancing around in glorious light that entered through an entire wall of windows. With permission from the dance instructor I returned to photograph one of the dance classes. Although I had thoroughly enjoyed my time with the girls, I left wondering if I had captured a moment worth keeping. These young girls flitted from one place to another like butterflies in a summer garden. As expected, most of my shots missed the decisive moment by a fraction of a second and I discarded the majority of images. Over the past months, I have been drawn to review the handful of images I had kept. Recently, this one image captured my heart. Sometimes the passage of time is what is needed to allow our minds to absorb and understand what has been in front of our eyes all along.

3 comments
  1. Susan said:

    This is a beautiful image, as are many that you have posted — if not all beautiful, certainly visually searing. Thank you for sending me your work. I always enjoy it. We miss you down here!

  2. Margarita Montalvo said:

    HOW ADORABLE! Margarita

  3. Yvonne Young said:

    I enjoy your photography as well as your writing. I feel you have a gift for written expression as well as visual expression! What a great opportunity for the little dancers to dance in such a beautiful setting.

Leave a Reply

