Derrick the Trumpeter

Derrick with TrumpetI heard the melancholy sound from a lone trumpet as I was walking down Marietta Street in downtown Atlanta. It was two blocks before I came upon Derrick. I stopped to listen and when he noticed me with my camera he motioned me to take a picture of him. Throughout his childhood, Derrick was exposed to jazz music. His father played the bass. Derrick went on to study music at Clark Atlanta University, one of the historically black universities in the Atlanta area. These days, Derrick performs at various venues with his band and plays on the city streets for anyone who cares to listen.

6 comments
  1. Clay Fisher said:

    Love, Love this shot!

    • Thanks Clay. This was my favorite shot of the day.

  2. Marguerite Foxon said:

    Love the shadow behind him

    Sent from my iPad

    • The shadow was serendipity. As I was taking my last two shots of Derrick the sun peeked out for a few seconds and then was gone. The shadow was a bonus.

  3. Yvonne said:

    Very cool shot….love the shadow. BTW, your print “Don’t Give Up” is on my office wall. Can’t wait for me students to notice it. It looks great! Thank you.

    • Thank you and you are so welcome. Good luck with the start of school!

Leave a Reply

