The Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Mural

MLK MuralI am always moved and awe-struck when I see this 125-foot-long mural entitled Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Mural at the MLK National Historic Site. It was created by the prominent Atlanta artist, Louis Delsarte, and dedicated in 2010. Upon my most recent visit to the Sweet Auburn historic district in Atlanta, people of all ages were milling around in this courtyard after the Black History Month Parade and celebration. I waited a few minutes to capture this unobstructed view of the mural. To learn more about the artist and mural visit the following link. http://www.accessatlanta.com/news/entertainment/calendar/atlanta-artist-paints-mural-fit-for-a-king-1/nQbkk/

2 comments
  1. margfoxon said:

    Great shot and interesting that no Anglos are sitting there! YOu couldn’t have posed it better yourself.

    I think this mural is so much better than what I consider to be the dreadful display re MLK and Civil Rights in the Atlanta Airport … when ever I come into that 2nd to last terminal (also the international one) I just think how unflattering the display is – I think it gives a negative impression.  I cannot imagine the US would have honored JFK for example with such an insipid set of photos. M

    >________________________________ > From: Beate Sass >To: margfoxon@yahoo.com >Sent: Thursday, March 6, 2014 9:56 AM >Subject: [New post] 1506 > > > > WordPress.com >Beate Sass posted: “I am always moved and awe-struck when I see this 125-foot-long mural entitled Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Mural at the MLK National Historic Site. It was created by the prominent Atlanta artist, Louis Delsarte, and dedicated in 2010. Upon my most rece” >

  2. Bunny Ferrall said:

    You have such a great eye!!! When You have your Atlanta photo exhibit I want to come!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

