Mural in Castleberry Hills

Mural in Castleberry Hills

I discovered this mural on Peters Street in the historic neighborhood of Castleberry Hills. I was intrigued with the mural because the boy is missing an eye. I don’t know whether the artist painted the boy without an eye or whether the mural was defaced. I am always reticent to photograph another person’s art but when I noticed the reflection of the boy in the window of the building across the street I knew that I could incorporate the mural into an image of my own. As an interesting aside, Castleberry Hills is one of the oldest neighborhoods in Atlanta. It was called Snake Nation in the 1840s and 1850s as a result of the snake oil salesmen that peddled their products on the streets. At that time it was known as the city’s red light district and was not considered a place to be frequented by decent folks. Today the neighborhood is in transition and is home to art galleries, restaurants and lofts.

7 comments
  1. Susan B. said:

    Beate, you have a beautiful eye.

    • Thanks Susan. A big hello to you and the family!

  2. Hildy Diaz said:

    Artist and Historian at work, that’s you, Beate. Super…aunt hildy

  3. It was painted without an eye and was part of Living Walls 2013. One of my favorites.

    • Wow. You are the first person to know anything about it. Thanks for sharing that bit of information and thanks for taking the time to look at my blog!

      • I used to travel through Castleberry Hill everyday on my way to work. A favorite moment: the morning after the 2010 mid-term elections, I was feeling a little discouraged, and it was raining. Traveling up Peters Street, I glanced out my side window just as I passed a building whose entire facade bore this slogan: TOMORROW IS ANOTHER DAY. It’s gone now.
        http://scuffalong.tumblr.com/post/1470926195/atlanta-nov-3-c-ly-henderson

  4. Isn’t it amazing how this wall art that is transient in nature sticks with us, even after the paint has faded. We are all the richer as a result of what artists have erected on the walls of buildings and various structures. Thanks for subscribing to my blog. How did you come across my blog?

Leave a Reply

