Dad at 90

Dad 90 yo

When I asked my dad several months ago how he would like to celebrate his 90th birthday he replied that he would like to have friends over for a party. Not only was he talking about hosting 35 guests he also considered cooking. In the end, I was able to persuade him to have the main meal catered. He insisted on making the appetizers and by the time I had arrived in Albuquerque he had already made the guacamole and ratatouille, marinated the greek olives and created a last minute list of items to shop for. One might think that shopping with a 90 year old man might take a better part of the day but when I enter a grocery store with my dad he is already halfway down the first aisle as I am just walking through the entrance with the cart. But as I have mentioned before, my dad is not an ordinary man. He is an extraordinary person who embraces life with true gusto. Perhaps this is why my dad is still vibrant and youthful at 90 years old. Happy Birthday Dad. I love you!  (And by the way Dad, please do not mention again that you are starting to feel your age.)

21 comments
  1. Eric Rawlings said:

    Great portrait! My mother’s family comes from the same area of Greece as Beate’s and they all live well into their 90s. They too are full of life and energy. Something about those Spartan genes and the Mediterranean diet. Opa!

    • Thanks Eric. I hope I inherited those Greek genes for longevity as I hope you did also.

  2. Fabulous photo. He must be so proud of all of your creative energy!

    • Thanks Bonita. He is pleased that I am having such a rich photographic life. And, he is always a willing participant and a wonder model.

  3. Carolyn Cowan said:

    Beate, what a beautiful photo of your father. I remember him well from your visit to our home with both your parents some years ago. Please send him my warm wishes for his 90th! Warmly, Carolyn Cowan

    • Well Carolyn, that visit was 30 something years ago. I still remember that time together vividly. Can you imagine that three decades have passed? Thank you for your comment. I will pass along your regards.

  4. Mahon, Barbara E said:

    What a beautiful portrait!

    Sent from my Verizon Wireless 4G LTE Smartphone

    • Thanks Barbara. That was my dad’s gift to me. My wonderful visit and celebration with him will always be a part of this portrait. I took it the morning I left for the airport. He was in a bit of a hurry to get to his water aerobes class and all I could think of was that I wanted to take his 90th birthday portrait before I boarded the plane. I got him to stay still for a few minutes. What energy. I tire just watching him.

  5. Riko said:

    Happy birthday Dad.

  6. Hildy Diaz said:

    Your Dad truly is incredible, Beate. We look forward to his next visit.
    That picture captures his alert and contemplative look; it is telling.
    Hildy

    • Well, he is an incredible man. Thanks for the compliment. By the way, he loved your card. We both a great laugh.

  7. Margarita Montalvo said:

    IT WAS A GREAT PARTY, AND SO GOOD TO SEE YOU ALSO, BEATE. INDEED. PETER IS AN EXAMPLE TO ALL OF US. LOVE, MARGARITA

    • …as was Braulio. Thanks Margarita. Great to see you too.

  8. margfoxon said:

    great story great photo. YOu can see the life in his face – he’s got another decade in him Id say! M

    >________________________________ > From: Beate Sass >To: margfoxon@yahoo.com >Sent: Tuesday, September 30, 2014 10:35 PM >Subject: [New post] Dad at 90 > > > > WordPress.com >Beate Sass posted: ” When I asked my dad several months ago how he would like to celebrate his 90th birthday he replied that he would like to have friends over for a party. Not only was he talking about hosting 35 guests he also considered cooking. In the end, I was able ” >

    • I’m counting on it. I told my dad that when we celebrated his 100th that we would have it fully catered or go out to a restaurant. This was a lot of work. Thanks for your comment!

  9. You are lucky to have such a dad, and what a beautiful portrait you have made!

  10. Clay Fisher said:

    Beate, Thanks for you sharing this wonderful moment with your dad at the grocery store. He inspires me to live every day with full and complete purpose!.

    • Thanks Clay. He is an inspiration to me and all those he knows.

  11. Ben said:

    Wonderful portrait of a wonderful man by a wonderful photographer. Beate you are so beautiful in every aspect of your art and life. Indeed the apple does not fall far from the tree!

Leave a Reply

