Tour deCatur on Pi Day

03_14_15_TourDecatur-1     03_14_15_TourDecatur-203_14_15_TourDecatur-303_14_15_TourDecatur-403_14_15_TourDecatur-503_14_15_TourDecatur-6

The Decatur Education Foundation sponsored the Tour deCatur on Pi Day, 3.14.15. This is the only time this century that the date occurred as the first  5 numbers of Pi. This event included a 1-mile Fun Run, a 5K and a Tot Trot. Despite the rain, runners of all ages and skill levels showed up to run the streets of Decatur. The funds raised will benefit the City Schools of Decatur.

6 comments
  1. chip said:

    as terrific as ever…

    • Thanks Chip. It has been many months since I have been out photographing in my community. I didn’t realize how much I have missed it. I’ve been volunteering with the Decatur Education Foundation to photograph their events and this has provided some really interesting opportunities lately to photograph the comings and goings in Decatur.

  2. marney richards said:

    I’m glad you’re back out, too. It seems such an interesting way to connect with your community and to share glimpses of it.

    • You are right that it does provide me the opportunity to connect with people that I do not know in ways that I usually don’t when I am not photographing. It also gives me license to step into people’s personal spaces which allows me to capture a very intimate kind of portrait. People are very tolerant of me when I am holding a camera. Hope all is well in TLH.

  3. Margarita Montalvo said:

    SUPERMAN WAS MY FAVORITE!!!! MARGARITA

    • He is precious! I had to run after him quite a bit before he settled down for a few seconds, long enough for me to capture this shot. He was perpetual motion.

Leave a Reply

