Baseball and Life Lessons

Peter at Fence-1

I grew up in a family that valued the arts. Although my dad was a loyal Dodgers baseball fan, I never attended a baseball game until I married a devoted Giants fan. I attended USC as an undergraduate and prided myself in going to only one football game; I found it dreadfully boring. While enrolled at the University of California, San Francisco in 1989, the university celebrated its 25th anniversary of becoming the ninth campus in the UC system and the only one devoted to the health sciences. Their slogan was, 25 years and still no sports.¬†When my son, Peter, begged to quit studying piano at the age of eleven, I was disappointed but consoled myself with the fact that he was switching to another musical instrument, the drums. When he quit drums two years later and professed his love for baseball I silently grieved his decision to pursue a sport in lieu of an art form. As the years have passed Peter has grown to become passionate about playing, watching and following baseball. It is what feeds his soul. I have learned that baseball has been instrumental in shaping my 15-year-old son into the person he is today and the man he will become in the future. He has learned what it means to be a person of character and integrity and the importance of sacrificing for the good of a larger entity. He is learning how to accept successes humbly and failures with grace. Giving up is never an option and perseverance is Peter’s motto. At Decatur High, Peter is a “pitcher-only”. This means that he only pitches a few innings 1-2 times a week. One day I asked Peter,” Don’t you get tired of just being in the dugout and not playing many games?” He replied, “Mom, it isn’t about me, it’s about the team.” I’m learning baseball’s life lessons too.

(Peter, in center above)

5 comments
  1. Carolyn Cowan said:

    Dear Beate,

    I love this one! You write so so poetically and with your lovely photos, you convey so much feeling.

    I’m going to send this one along to Joanna’s brother Jon, who also pitched as a young boy, as I think it will speak to him as well.

    I enjoy being on your list! Be well. Warmly, Carolyn

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • Thanks Carolyn. Stay tuned for more baseball photos and stories. I have now become an embedded photographer for the Decatur baseball team. I’m getting ahead of myself so keep a look out for my next post. This is therapeutic for me. I am getting the opportunity to share in something that is so important to Peter. I have never appreciated his love for baseball and now I am starting to see it all through his eyes. This is a privilege.

  2. Margarita Montalvo said:

    Interesting how you have been “converted”. My children were ashamed of me when I told them that I had never been to a baseball game (of which I was proud), other than the ones where Carlos played when he was a kid. So…they convinced me to accompany them to a game of the 4th of July in Philadelphia. I must confess I only appreciated the fireworks at the end. They gave up on me! Margarita

    • I have certainly have warmed up to the game. As I learn more about the sport, the more I have come to appreciate it.

  3. Hildy Diaz said:

    too bad we live so far apart. I would love to sit on the bleaches and see Peter pitching.

Leave a Reply

