A Mother’s Dream, a Son’s Nightmare

04_01_15 dugout-104_01_15 dugout-2

04_01_15 dugout-3 04_01_15 dugout-4 04_01_15 dugout-5

When Coach Cardozo, the head baseball coach for Decatur High School, invited me to become an embedded photographer for the baseball teams it was a dream come true. What mother and photographer wouldn’t jump at the opportunity to hang out with the boys (including my son) in the dugout during the baseball games. It is an opportunity to witness what a spectator is unable to observe from the stands. It is the chance of a lifetime to capture authentic moments that are fleeting and concealed from public view. It was a gift dropped in my lap but for my 15-year-old son, Peter, it was a nightmare.  I certainly understood his point of view but the lure to photograph the boys in their finest moments was powerful. In the end, Peter and I came to an understanding. When I am in the dugout I am invisible. I am no longer Peter’s mom but just a photographer who strives to capture the essence of the players as individuals and collectively as a team. Just as it should be.

(Coach Cardozo, directly above on the right)

9 comments
  1. Myrtie said:

    Great shots as usual, Beate! Glad the two of you could come to an understanding!

  2. margfoxon said:

    Good for you! Happy Easter. Big four day holiday here, in the most secular of countries! Shops all close on Good Fri! M

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thanks Myrtie! This is a lot of fun and a challenge. Because I am photographing in the same place each time i really have to push myself to create images that are different. It gets more difficult with each game. But this is what keeps it fresh for me.

  3. janet hastings said:

    tom likes your dugout photos- he enjoys college baseball- thanks Peter for letting your mom work her magic

    • Janet, I will relay your thanks to Peter. He is tolerating the situation but he is not happy about it. I try to go to games he is not dressing out for.

  4. Hildy Diaz said:

    You have a good understanding of kid’s thinking. As I said in my last post, if we weren’t so far away I would be watching Peter play.
    Happy Easter! Yvonne is leaving for Kenya today and Mark and family on a cruise on Monday. We’ll be with them for Easter Sunday.

  5. Margarita Montalvo said:

    NOW I UNDERSTAND THE TITLE: “A MOTHER’S DREAM, A SON’S NIGHTMARE” !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Margarita

  6. bartokson said:

    Beate,

    I loved your dugout shots! Really nice.

    I hope you were able to get some restful sleep last night. I have found that getting back to exercising has left me so tired by the evening that I go to bed early and am getting the best sleep that I have had in ages! Probably when I get back into physical shape I will relapse into my old sleeping routines.

    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

