My Mother’s Wedding Dress

Mom;s wedding dress

As most of you know I recently traveled to New Mexico to assist my father in his move from his house to a retirement community. It was a very difficult time for me because I had to come to terms with “letting go” of the house which had been my childhood home, and all the things within. Although I brought back a few items, I left behind my mother’s wedding dress. There is no one on my side of the family or my husband’s that would potentially use it. I decided to leave it behind to be sold at the estate sale rather then see it boxed up and stored away. It broke my heart and I questioned whether I had made the right decision. As it turned out I had. A week after returning home I received an email that moved me to tears and one I will never forget. I want to share this with all of you because it is so beautiful.

Hi Beate,

Let me introduce myself, my name is M. P.  and I’m a photojournalist in Albuquerque. Today I went by the estate sale at your father’s house and bought something so special I had to reach out to you. I hope you don’t mind and that this email finds you well.

I ended up buying your mother’s wedding dress. I am getting married this September in Albuquerque and will be wearing it. I just wanted to let you know it went to a loving new home where it will be treasured for years and hopefully a little luck or love rubs off and blesses my marriage. It sounds like your parent’s love story was a great one.

The ladies running the estate sale took some cell phone photos of me trying it on to show your father. So I hope they remember to do just that. The dress fits like a glove and I will be having it professionally cleaned and restored before my big day. It means so much to me. I actually had another dress picked out but when I saw that one and tried it on I knew that was the dress for me. My friend and I were crying because it was so perfect as she helped unzip me out of it.

So thank you to you and your father for allowing it to be passed on to another family and wedding. I will forever treasure the dress.

Much love and gratitude,

M.

15 comments
  1. janet hastings said:

    love this story, beate- thx for sharing-

  2. Chip Simone said:

    The dress. The image. Lovely….

  3. Margarita Montalvo said:

    Beate, That lady DESERVES to be as happily married as Doris and Peter. Doris always had great taste. Her dress is beautiful. Hope some day my wedding dress ends up in good hands also. Beautiful story, Margarita

  4. I am crying reading the email. It is so beautiful. Going with your instincts gave someone else a gift of love for life.

  5. Myrtie said:

    Oh, Beate! What a wonderful ending to your story and a beautiful beginning for the lady who bought it!

  6. Bonita said:

    Beate, what a beautiful story. So glad you shared with us!

  7. margfoxon said:

    An amazing and heart warming story. One should always follow the heart even when it seems hard. M

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  8. How absolutely wonderful, Beate! Thank you for sharing this with us!

  9. Katie said:

    Dear Beate, I couldn’t be happier for you and your father, and for the new bride-to-be. I always tell my husband and kids not to be discouraged when people are unkind to them, or when leaders make bad choices, because there are so many loving people in the world, so many of whom we haven’t yet met. They find us in unexpected times and in unexpected ways. Thank you for this inspiring story! And my heart goes out to the September wedding in Albuquerque…! With love, Katie

    • What a beautiful thing to say Katie. You are right in that we are exposed to the evils in this world every day when listening to the news and yet the majority of people are peace loving and kind. Thank you for reminding us of this.

  10. Phil Cowan said:

    Very touching story, beautifully told

  11. Riko Carrion said:

    This is just the most fantastic story. There is a novel here.

  12. That is so beautiful, and it sounds like it was very hard for you to do. I guess sometimes things just have a way of working themselves out like that. By the way this is your cousin’s (Diana’s) daughter.

  13. HD said:

    I am hopeful I will stop weeping by lunchtime…in a good way! Truly wonderful.

Leave a Reply

