Going to Press

Real Stories, Real People went to press on Friday. I traveled to Monroe, Georgia, the location of Walton Press Inc., where I witnessed the production of the publication. I arrived as the printing crew was proofing the publication for alignment and color. It was a fascinating procedure to witness. I will take you through the steps as I captured them.

Walton Press-1Real Stories, Real People was printed on the large roll of paper on the right.

Walton Press-3This is the initial run of the publication on the printing press.

Walton Press-4Kenneth is evaluating the color of the individual pages and has proofs that have been created by the prepress team which he uses to match the color.

Walton Press-5Kenneth makes adjustments to the color which he evaluates by eye. Although it appears as if he is taking his time, the process occurs at lightening speed. As the publication comes off the press, individual copies are snatched up to evaluate and adjustments are inputted into the system within seconds. These changes affect the printing instantaneously.

Walton Press-7This is the back page of the 2000 copies.

I want to extend my sincere gratitude to all the staff at Walton Press. I am thankful for their assistance in helping me prepare Real Stories, Real People for press and the crew on Friday for their expertise in creating a high quality publication.

Real Stories, Real People will be distributed to the Georgia Policymakers during this legislative session and will also be available to the public free of charge. The printing of this publication was made possible from the generous donations received by family, friends, and individuals who I have never met. Thank you to all who contributed.

To learn more about Real Stories, Real People visit http://www.realstoriesrealpeople.org

9 comments
  1. Joanna White said:

    This is incredible!

  2. Janet Hastings said:

    My congratulations to you and all the the families whose stories you told- I am hoping Real Stories, Real People helps achieve real change in these families lives- ps- thx for showing the actual printing process- I feel like I was there

    • Glad you enjoyed seeing the printing process. I learned a lot from watching and did not know what that process would look like. As you know change is slow, especially when it involves money. Nevertheless, we have to start somewhere and educating is key. I will be sending you a copy. I so appreciate your support.

  3. margfoxon said:

    cograts Beate. Good for you using your skills in this way.  Terrific!M

    From: Beate Sass To: margfoxon@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, January 13, 2016 12:19 AM Subject: [New post] Going to Press #yiv3481246567 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3481246567 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3481246567 a.yiv3481246567primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3481246567 a.yiv3481246567primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3481246567 a.yiv3481246567primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3481246567 a.yiv3481246567primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3481246567 WordPress.com | Beate Sass posted: “Real Stories, Real People went to press on Friday. I traveled to Monroe, Georgia, the location of Walton Press Inc., where I witnessed the production of the publication. I arrived as the printing crew was proofing the publication for alignment and color. ” | |

    • Thanks Marguerite. It is very satisfying to use my passion for a cause.

  4. Margarita Montalvo said:

    Very interesting! Margarita

  5. Diane said:

    Beate, absolutely amazing. The way you captured the workers carefully looking at our pictures was like them looking at a priceless piece of art. I am so excited to be a part of the awareness this will bring to everyone who reads it.

    • The crew was very meticulous about the color and alignment and from what I was told they treat each project with the same care. Thanks again for your generosity!

Leave a Reply

