Happy Mother’s Day

Kebra and LaNeeks

I was recently meandering through the Little Five Points district in East Atlanta when I came upon 6-year-old Kebra sitting in front of her mother and fathers’s store, Earthtone. In the soft light of late afternoon she radiated the kind of beauty that leaves one breathless. I remember feeling this same way when I initially met her 3 years ago. At that time, I had photographed her against this same wall outside the shop, first by herself and then with her mother, LaNeeks (see post from March 18, 2012 and May 13, 2012). We had fun revisiting these old posts of her and her mother on my cell phone and getting reacquainted.  I then asked Kebra and LaNeeks whether I could create a portrait of them together. The love and strong bond that mother and daughter share was a privilege to capture.

Happy Mother’s Day to all the amazing mothers I know, have known and have yet to meet.

2 comments
  1. Margarita Montalvo said:

    A true picture of love, Margarita

  2. Hildy said:

    Nice photo, Beate….we are at Mark’s for the next 2-3 weeks. Krystal had surgery on both feet..not a good mothers day for her. Hildy

Leave a Reply

