Mariachi Band at Chili Roast

mariachi-band

The Square Pub in Decatur held their 6th Annual Chili Roast yesterday. You may be wondering what would inspire the owners of The Square Pub to fly out to El Paso, Texas, drive to Hatch, New Mexico, load 8,000 pounds of green chili into a moving van, and drive 1,500 miles back to Decatur. It is because the green chili from Hatch is the best in the world. The flavor of these chilis is rich and complex. The Square Pub roasted the chilis outside their restaurant yesterday and the smell was intoxicating. It took me back to my childhood years in New Mexico when the aroma of chilis roasting on major street corners in the fall infused the air. As we stood in the cue to purchase roasted chilis I saw a mariachi band enter the pub. Eager to hear the music from my childhood I followed them inside. One of the first tunes they sang was the first song I recall my mother singing to me when I was very young.

ay ya ya yai Canta y no Llores

My mom would have been 90 years old on September 28. Happy Birthday Mom.

 

2 comments
  1. Margarita Montalvo said:

    I CAN ALMOST HEAR THE GUY TO THE RIGHT SINGING. MARGARITA

  2. jerry turner said:

    Great shot, Beate!!!
    You really captured the moment.

Leave a Reply

