I am Decatur #2

Eula Malone Photo

If you pass the intersection of West College Avenue and Adams on a school day, as children are walking to and from Renfroe Middle School, you have witnessed a tour de force. She stands five feet tall and wears fluorescent colored gloves and vest. She blows her whistle as if her life depends on it, and she expertly orchestrates traffic with grand gestures. Her name is Eula Malone. For the past eight years she has safely guided youngsters across this intersection with a smile and a shout out to have a nice day. “My passion for my job is to be the best I can be. I know I am responsible for a lot of parent’s kids. I treat the kids the same way I treat mine, with respect. I take my job very seriously to make sure they get across the street safely.” Eula’s dedication to her job has not gone unnoticed. In 2014 she was awarded the Thomas O. Davis award by the city for serving as a role model for others in public service and for being an inspiration to the community. “That was quite a surprise. I always say do the best and be the best you can be. If you flip burgers be the best burger flipper that you can be. I was proud to get that award. I was just doing my daily routine.”

Perhaps nothing has meant as much to Eula as a letter that a student handed her one morning. “She gave me that letter but I didn’t have time to read it until I got home. It was so heart touching. I cried because the words she said meant so much to me. I will always cherish that letter. It will hold a special place in my heart.” Below, Eula shares the letter from the student:

Final Letter

 

2 comments
  1. Margarita Montalvo said:

    LOVED IT!! MARGARITA

Leave a Reply

