I am Decatur #7

Faiza Haji Photo

Faiza Haji immigrated to the United States from Kenya in 2006. Faiza was born in Kenya of Somalian parents. Faiza has embraced the Somalian tradition of poetry which is embedded in the culture of the people. Both Faiza and her mother are poets. “I’m very passionate about spoken word poetry. I love being able to communicate with different groups of people and move them with my writing.” Faiza has found a supportive and accepting community in Decatur, where she is a student at Decatur High School. “Many teachers have inspired me to do things that I would have never done if I had not met them, like tennis. I actually played for a year. It was the most amazing experience I have ever had. It had been on my bucket list.”

“Since Decatur is a majority liberal community, it’s very accepting. Being a Muslim in these times in America is nerve racking. Everyone has a different view of Muslims, and there are a lot of misconceptions and stereotypes. I feel that we don’t fit under those stereotypes because Islam preaches peace. I don’t want people to label me based on how I look or my religion. I want people to look past that and see me for a spoken word poet and an artist. It’s very hard to be the community that is always being attacked.  Not only am I Muslim but I am also a black woman. It is a lot to carry on my shoulders.”

Faiza’s experience living in America as a minority has inspired her career choice. ”I want to go into civil law because I want to stand up for people who don’t have a voice. That’s what I do with my poetry.”

8 comments
  1. Janet Hastings said:

    especially liked meeting Faiza- her portrait moved me

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • She is an amazingly talented and beautiful young lady.

  2. margfoxon said:

    Very moving Beate. Hope you’re well. M

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • I’m glad you found her story as moving as I did. Her poetry is very powerful. She has a lot to say. So nice to hear from you.

  3. Cheryl Nahmias said:

    Faiza is a wonderful person and an exceptionally talented poet. I love this profile.

    • Thanks for introducing us. Faiza is an amazing poet and a beautiful young lady.

  4. Margarita Montalvo said:

    LUCKY TO HAVE FAIZA AMONG US! BEAUTIFUL PICTURE..LIKE A POEM. MARGARITA

    • It helps to have a beautiful young lady to photograph.

Leave a Reply

