Archive

Daily Archives: June 6, 2017

Meh Sod Paw

Meh Sod Paw was born in a refugee camp in Thailand. Her parents and four siblings had fled persecution from their home country of Burma. For eleven years, Meh Sod lived in the refugee camp until her family was relocated to the United States in 2007. “It was hard coming to a new country. When I came here, I did not know much English. All I knew was the alphabet and numbers. Making friends and the academic work was hard. “ Luckily, Meh Sod was accepted into the Global Village Project (GVP), where she received intensive English instruction during her middle school years. Meh Sod transitioned into her local high school in Clarkston where she thrived academically and became involved in various clubs and activities. “I joined Toastmasters where I learned how to speak and write. I also joined a women’s leadership program, Beta Club, and I played volleyball for two years.”

Initially, Meh Sod’s family resettled in Stone Mountain, but that was problematic. “There weren’t a lot of refugee families there. It was scary. I don’t know why, but some people threw rocks at our doors and our windows broke. When we moved to Clarkston we made friends. There were still a lot of problems in Clarkston, but it was a place where we connected with other families and were able to share our culture with friends and people from other countries.”

Upon graduating from High School, Meh Sod was awarded a prestigious Millennium Gates Scholarship. It pays for her tuition and expenses at Agnes Scott College in Decatur, where she is finishing her first year. “Being here is like a new world. We have people from many other countries. I’ve made new friends from Turkey, Nepal, and also some from here. I have a great support system and I can always go to my the professors when I need help.” Meh Sod is considering becoming a teacher. “ When I was living in Thailand, it was one of my dreams to become a teacher. I had teachers who were very inspiring, and I was told that education was very important.”

