Archive

Daily Archives: May 29, 2014

Man in French Cafe

A couple of days ago I walked past the Healy Building in downtown Atlanta and noticed a slew of people just inside the entryway. A gallery in the building, which had been empty a few days prior, was packed with equipment. The commotion is rare given that there are only two first-floor tenants, the Vintage Hair Gallery and Le French Quarter Cafe. I had not been allowed to photograph within the building a few days prior so I decided to wander inside in the hopes that I would blend among the crowd. As I approached the entry to the Healy Building I glanced to my right into Le French Quarter Cafe and noticed the scene as shown above. For a moment I felt as if I had been transported to Paris. I took several shots and proceeded to wander into the Healy Building. As it turned out, the Oprah Winfrey-produced movie “Selma” was being filmed in the Vintage Hair Gallery (see last post). “Selma” is a biopic about Martin Luther King Jr. and is anticipated to be released next year.